Central American Integration System (SICA)

13 December 1991; operational 1 February 1993

to strengthen democracy; to set up a new model of regional security; to promote freedom; to achieve a regional system of welfare and economic and social justice; to attain economic unity and strengthen the area as an economic bloc; to act as a bloc in international matters

members - (8) Belize, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama

observers - (26) Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, EU, France, Germany, Holy See, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Order of Malta, Mexico, Morocco, New Zealand, Peru, Qatar, Serbia, Spain, Taiwan, Turkey, UK, US, Uruguay