Council of the Baltic Sea States (CBSS)

6 March 1992

to promote cooperation among the Baltic Sea states in the areas of aid to new democratic institutions, economic development, humanitarian aid, energy and the environment, cultural programs and education, and transportation and communication

members - (12) Denmark, Estonia, EC, Finland, Germany, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Russia, Sweden

observers - (13) Belarus, France, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Romania, Slovakia, Spain, Turkey, Ukraine, UK, US