Group of 8 (G-8)

October 1975

to facilitate economic cooperation among the developed countries (DCs) that participated in the Conference on International Economic Cooperation (CIEC), held in several sessions between December 1975 and 3 June 1977; Russia admitted in 1997 but suspended in 2014 following the annexation of Crimea in Ukraine; the EU has been represented in the G-8 since the 1980s

members - (9) Canada, EU, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Russia, UK, US