International Monetary Fund (IMF)

22 July 1944; effective - 27 December 1945

to promote world monetary stability and economic development; a UN specialized agency

members - (194) includes all UN member countries except Andorra, Cuba, North Korea, Liechtenstein, Monaco; plus Kosovo; note - includes the following dependencies or areas of special interest: China (Hong Kong and Macau), Netherlands (Aruba, Curacao, Sint Maarten), UK (Anguilla, Montserrat)