Schengen Convention

signed June 1990; effective March 1995

to allow free movement within an area without internal border controls

members - (26) Austria, Belgium, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland; note - UK and Ireland have not joined; Cyprus will probably join in the near future; Bulgaria and Romania are still not fully implemented

De Facto members (microstates within or between Schengen states) - (4) Andorra, Holy See, Monaco, San Marino