Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO)

15 June 2001

to combat terrorism, extremism, and separatism; to safeguard regional security through mutual trust, disarmament, and cooperative security; and to increase cooperation in political, trade, economic, scientific and technological, cultural, and educational fields

members - (6) China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan

dialogue members - (3) Belarus, Sri Lanka Turkey

observers - (5) Afghanistan, India, Iran, Mongolia, Pakistan