Union of South American Nations (UNASUR - Spanish; UNASUL - Portuguese)

formerly South American Community of Nations (CSN) which terminated on 16 April 2007

23 May 2008

to model a community after the European Union which will include a common currency, parliament, passport, and defense policy

members - (12) Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay, Venezuela

observers - (2) Mexico, Panama